top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAaron R. Gierhart

Farewells

Updated: May 16, 2020

It was my intention to record a video version of this to share with my current, soon-to-be-former, third grader students; however, I do better expressing myself in written form, particularly with matters that are challenging.


I began working towards my doctoral degree at Illinois State University in the summer of 2016. I had a rough idea that I would graduate in 2020 and transition to a new career as a teacher educator at the college/university setting.


Little did I know that my final months as an elementary teacher would be spent in relative seclusion with my wife and two children, communicating with my students through a laptop computer instead of in the classroom. I will say good-byes to current and former students not with hugs and well wishes, but through a blog post (and perhaps some emails or phone calls).


I will leave colleagues (i.e., friends) I have worked with for over a decade with very little fanfare. Thankfully, I married the music teacher, so I get to keep her around.


Besides the obvious social health matters and how they have affected the children of the Geneseo community, the only part I will allow myself to feel sad about is the lack of closure on this chapter of both my professional and personal lives. Ultimately, what I wish to express in writing this post is gratitude.


I am grateful for the opportunity the Geneseo Board of Education has afforded me since I was 22 years old to make a positive impact on the children of this district.


I am grateful for the guidance and leadership of the many administrators that have led our district and its schools.

  • Scott Kuffel, Sarah Boone, and Alex Kashner: Your support in my journey to higher ed cannot be understated, and I want to especially express my thanks to you.


I am grateful for my colleagues, past and present, who have inspired and shaped my pedagogy and passion for educating young children. While being a classroom teacher is primarily done in relative isolation from other colleagues for a large portion of the day, I never felt alone.

  • I thank my past and present grade level colleagues: Marcie Reakes, Cathy Strafford, Sara Stroud, Jenny Snodgrass, Janelle Hickey, Emily Alford, Taylor Woods, Heather Hayes, Laura Hepner, and Emily Johnson. I also thank my extended grade level colleagues from across the district. Tami Monier, we always seemed to follow each other across grade levels during my time here, and I was always glad to see you across the table at those meetings.

  • Kim Rivera, Linda Sheley, Allie Schnowske, Nicole Walsh, Sue Johnson, and Trish Henkhaus: Your extra support as I worked through my master's and doctoral degrees was integral and I hope you know how grateful I was to have you in my corner.

  • Sue Berry, Marti Loucks, and Jodi D'Hondt: Your support of my past and current students' reading needs was and continues to be invaluable. Thank you for shaping my literacy instruction with your expertise.

  • LaNae Reyburn: A member of the office staff at my new employer reminded me of you during my campus visit interview. This informed my decision to want to work there quite a bit. You have no idea how integral you are to Millikin, though I hope this acknowledgement sheds some light on the matter. I am ever-grateful for having you at work for the past ten years and value our friendship. Jami Melcher, I am also thankful for your guidance during my first year in Geneseo at Southwest.

  • The custodians of our buildings go beyond the call of the duty and have been so supportive in my work with students over the years. Jim, Lynette, Karen, Alice, and Paula - I am so thankful for your work, as well as the work of our tremendous maintenance staff.


To my past students, I know you will do great things. I was fortunate to be invited by a former student to the National Honor Society Induction at GHS in March, and while I won't be here to see any of you graduate from high school, I felt that was a really nice substitute. I take my experiences as your teacher with me as I prepare future elementary teachers in the Peach State.


To the parents and guardians of our students, PTA, and the extended community: Thank you for your support of what we do for children each day in Geneseo. You make the impossible possible and the insurmountable merely a road bump.


 

Below are photos from a few weeks ago when I cleaned out my third grade classroom for the final time. We were asked to bag up each student's desk items to be picked up in a car line in accordance with current social distancing guidelines.


The tools and objects of the year I spent teaching these students were boxed, bagged, and shelved...

However, no virus can reduce the experiences and relationships my students and I forged together, both in-person and from a distance. To think otherwise would be to reduce the importance of the work we completed together as a classroom community. What we do as teachers and students is simply not limited to classroom objects inside brick-and-mortar walls.


To my current class of third graders: I marvel at your resilience and courage during these months out of the classroom. I will miss you more than you could ever know and hope you understand that everything I did as your teacher was out of the utmost respect and care for your growth as students and individuals. You have forever shaped me as a teacher and professor. I know I promised you a video-based good-bye, but because of how awesome each of you truly are, and how I'm just not gonna' record myself getting emotional, this will have to do. I know you will understand. In the words of New England Patriots Coach Bill Belichick, "We're on to Cincinnati..."


I wish this district and community nothing but continued success and new heights moving forward. A small part of my heart will always remain in Geneseo. I shall not say good-bye, but rather, farewell and 'see you down the road.'


Regards,


Mr. G


Edit - I failed to acknowledge the excellent cafeteria staff that serve our students. Shouts out to Diana and crew!


228 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page